Unpack your company’s knowledge in your Enterprise Social Network: Dropbox now integrates in Zyncro!

Estimated reading time + video: 6 minutes

We’ve taken a new step towards making the platform even better: Zyncro offers you integrated access to Dropbox. This new integration joins the Google Drive integration as a tool for managing files. Soon we will announce new applications that will make Zyncro, if it is not already, the central management plaform for all your organization’s knowledge.

How does the Dropbox integration in Zyncro work?

The Dropbox integration ZyncroApp must be enabled by the organization’s administrator in the ZyncroApps section in the Admininstration Panel.

As a user, you need to access the right menu in your Profile > Dropbox Integration.

Once there, it will ask you to connect your Dropbox account with Zyncro. If you click ok, you will access a new window in Dropbox where you need to:

  • First, enter your Dropbox user data
  • Second, accept the connection between Dropbox and Zyncro

Once you have accepted the connection, you’ll receive a notification mail in the email account associated with Dropbox and the integration will be complete. You can then start to use Dropbox in your Enterprise Social Network.

Linking a work group to Dropbox

To link a work group to Dropbox, you need to go to the Files & Groups > Create New Group section, and in the new tab, accept the link with your Dropbox account.

Features

Managing Dropbox files from Zyncro

Within a work group in Zyncro linked to Dropbox, you need to select Manage Files. A window will open where you can select the files and folders you want to link with Dropbox. Once selected, click Accept and the files will be synchronized with your Dropbox account.

Uploading files to Dropbox from Zyncro

To upload files to Dropbox, you need to click Upload File and then select the files you want to upload. The file will be uploaded to the work group in Zyncro and to your Dropbox account also. When you upload files directly to your Dropbox account, they will be also synchronized with the Zyncro group; to sync them, you need to exit and then access the group again.

Deleting files in Zyncro

You can delete the files in the work group in Zyncro but they will continue to be accessible in your Dropbox account. However, if you delete them in your Dropbox account, they will also be deleted in the Zyncro group.

Creating folders from Zyncro

To create a new folder, click New Folder and enter the name and description. This new folder and the files you add to it will be synchronized with your Dropbox account.

Changing file names in Dropbox

You cannot change the names of files associated with a Dropbox account from Zyncro. However, in Dropbox –in a folder synchronized with a Zyncro work group– if you change the file name, this change will also be reflected in Zyncro.

We’ll leave you with a presentation video in which you can see how this integration works more interactively.

Start to enjoy the new Dropbox integration! Connect your accounts and share files!

 If you need more information, write to us at sales (@) zyncro.com or call us on +34 93 187 03 22 and we’ll tell you all about it.

Jaume Jané is responsible for ZyncroApps and integration at Zyncro. He is an expert in analysis and development for integration possibilities in Online Social Networks, enterprise software and productivity cloud applications. He coordinates interactions between Zyncro and third party technology solutions. Before, he worked with distinct companies as a web programmer and a functional analyst.